A Very Late Post

Apologies to those who were hoping to see the contents of this post a bit sooner.
Sometimes technology can trip up even the best of us.  But, as they say, better late than never….

Presentation Night

The annual Club Presentation Night was held on Saturday 1st April.  As usual it was a glittering affair with great food and great company.  Well done to the organisers and to all those who brought along the spread of delicious, low calorie food.
A few photos from the night and a full list of club tournament winners can be seen below.

Ladies Club Singles Champion Marg Chandler with runner up Helen Andrew
Men’s Singles Champion Mick Hayes









President Bob Wheaton presenting a certificate of appreciation to Steve Bartlett for his 10 years as Night Owls coordinator

Men’s Tournament Results

Championship Singles
Winner:           Mick Hayes
Runner Up:      Kevin Coates
‘B’ Grade Singles
Winner:           Bob Cavanagh
Runner Up:      Kevin Sorrell
Championship Pairs
Winners:          Don Bennett & Kevin Coates
Runners Up:    Bob Cavanagh & Steve Jolly
Championship Fours
Winners:          Mike Wildash, Steve Eichenberger, Mick Hayes & John Richards
Runners Up:    John Pearson, Bob Cavanagh, Max Herrmann, Lindsay Stam
Handicap Pairs
Winners:          Mike Wildash & Bob Cavanagh
Runners Up:    Terry Logan & Colin Taylor
Sets Play
Winner:           Gordon Davis
Runner Up:      Bob Wheaton

Ladies Tournament Results

Championship Singles
Winner:           Margaret Chandler
Runner Up:      Helen Andrew
Green Championship Singles
Winner:           Helen Bishop
Runner Up:      Doris Sykes
Championship Pairs
Winners:          Sharon Cavanagh (Sk). & Lyn Wildash
Runners Up:    Margaret Chandler (Sk). & Coralie Herrmann
Championship Fours
Winners:          Margaret Chandler (Sk). Sandra Barker, Rikki Bartlett, Lyn Cocks.
Runners Up:    Kay Johns (Sk). Helen Andrew, Lyn Wildash, Pauline Jowett
Ladies 100 Up
Winner:           Sharon Cavanagh
Runner Up:      Rosemary Smith

Hatchers Medley

The annual Ian Hatcher Men’s Medley was played at the Club on April 8th & 9th.

Weather was good besides a few small showers on the Sunday. The Moonta greens were in the usual excellent condition.

There were 128 players in 32 teams from as far afield as Ceduna & Nangiloc, Victoria plus a Western Australian and a Queenslander.  There were also a strong contingent of premier league players from Adelaide Clubs.  A good turnout of Moonta member volunteers ensured the event ran smoothly and the Moonta ladies put up their usual feast each day.

Winners on Saturday were a team of Ian Hatcher (Moonta),Peter Mueller (Frances), Col Roberts (Payneham) and Bernie Blums (Ceduna).
Sunday winners, who were also the overall carnival winners, were A Walker, M McCaffrey, B Nystram & G. Nardecchia from Payneham.

The weekend couldn’t take place without the generous support of our sponsors Lion Nathan, Wallaroo Celebrations, Moonta Hotel, Royal Hotel, Davies Transport, YP Massage Therapy, and First National Real Estate Moonta
The overall winners A Walker, M McCaffrey, B Nystram, and G Nardecchia from Payneham together with Lauren Skinner from YP Massage Therapy

Celebration Dinner

Ian Hatcher receives his well deserved OAM on Thursday 4th May at Government House in Adelaide.  All members are welcome to join him for dinner at the Royal Hotel that evening.  Time is 6:30 for 7:00.  Please ring the hotel to book.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s